Waka Ama!!!

Wednesday 15/3/2023

Manukau Outrigger Canoe Club

Waka Ama had finally arrived and I was super hyper when I got to school! I was so excited, I’ve never participated in  in any water activities expect for surfing when I was in  Australia.

When I arrived at school,the school gate was still closed. Frances and I were the only seniors there. When the gates opened we rushed to the girl’s bathroom to change into our mufti clothes ( non-uniform).

The bell went and my classmates all rushed to the class. The classroom was chaotic when I came in. We all put sunscreen on and went to the bus.

Our journey began. It was a short distance, but felt like it was taking hours due to traffic. We all hopped off the bus, full of energy. We scrambled to the site and was instructed to site in 4 lines.

Our coaches introduced themselves,  then demonstrated the different strokes and how to use the paddle.

Once we were in the boats we had a wonderful time. I’m excited to see what we are going to learn about Waka Ama next time

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *