Bomb Gone!

Bomb Gone!

My body shivers when I hear the Commander yelling “All hands on deck!” I instantly rush out of my bunk room to the deck where I see my mates sitting down, lips glued shut. Cautiously I tiptoe towards my sitting position trying to avoid Commander’s eagle eyes. With every movement I make I hear my overalls rustle. I slip into my mask and goggles. I settle down onto the hard,warm ground, my back facing the sea like the Commander said. Patiently I wait for the countdown. The ocean air was refreshing and a cool breeze was able to squeeze into my tight overalls, relieving me and my sweaty body.

I was startled when I heard the static of the broadcast “two minutes to the bomb” the man over the radio announced. I sigh, my body was drenched in sweat…the sun was showing no mercy today I thought. I saw the Commander talking to the Captain, they both looked oddly suspicious . My heart starts pounding aggressively when I hear the words that I have been dreading. “60 seconds to burst” I cross my fingers and pray hoping things will go well and I will go home a happy healthy man. “40 seconds, 30 20 15 10 5 4 3 2 1… bomb gone!” Immediately I shut my eyes. Through my sight I saw what looked like the bones of my hands. I was filled with shock and amazement. After 15 seconds we were forced to open our eyes and face the burst. The colour of the explosion was extraordinary, it glowed with colours from deep purple to orange and pink at the top. It also took the form of a dome mushroom. It was beautiful but deadly. I turn around just to see the Commander behind me, he snatches the goggles off me before whispering “stand by for the blast wave” He had an evil grin that spread throughout his face. He knew what he had done. I look at him up and down. He had changed out of his uniform into the protective clothing we were given. He still had his goggles on.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *